Easter Weekend

Sunday, 9th April 2023

Thought I'd try a somewhat personal blog entry, here goes.

Aight so this guy Fred is like, tooootally winding me up and... nah just kidding, it's not THAT personal a blog entry. Come to think about it, I don't actually know anyone called Fred. Anyway...

Static Ultra Progress

Quite soon after publishing Static Ultra, I encountered some small issues which never happened on my own PC. This is because Neocities recently added a thing which redirects URLs ending in .html to no .html. So site.neocites.org/about.html, would redirect to just site.neocities.org/about.

It's quite nice, although personally I'd have just done it so that instead of a redirect, both URLs just work, this way webmasters can use whichever they prefer. If they like about.html, they can make all their links point to about.html. If they like just "about", they can link to... just "about".

Anywho, it's here now, and Static Ultra needs to handle it properly. First thing I did was recreate this redirect thing on my own dev machine. To do that, I added the following to my htaccess file in XAMPP:

ReWriteEngine ON RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME}.html -f RewriteRule (.+) $1.html [QSA,L] RewriteCond %{THE_REQUEST} \.html RewriteRule ^(.*)\.html$ /$1 [R=301,L]

Lovely. Then I started work on updating Static Ultra, and somehow instead ended up on a bit of a restructuring and reorganising session. Which is actually going really well! I think it's now easier to follow, less dupe code, and that should make it easier to do these and future updates.

Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

Nintendo dropped a 10 minute gameplay trailer recently, which I watched over the weekend.

Breaking weapons is back, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Although the whole weapon/vehicle fusion thing does look like a lot of fun!

Although, can someone tell me how attaching a GIANT FREAKING ROCK to a broken stick somehow makes the stick less broken? xD

Star Trek: Picard Season 3

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR NEMESIS AND PICARD FOLLOW!!!

So, at the end of Nemesis, Data died. And then, it turned out Nemesis was the last Next Generation thing. BOOOOOOOOOOOO! Killing off Data is NOT cool.

Then Picard was announced, and Data was alive again via some virtual copy of the copy of himself he copied to B4. Great!

lol jk, this Data has had enough and now he's dead too. BOOOOOOOOO!

But now, in Season 3, ANOTHER copy of the copy of Data in B4 has been copied to ANOTHER COPY and Data is alive... again! YAY! If they kill him off AGAIN they're literally just winding people up.

Oh also, Star Trek: Picard is really excellent, and Season 3 has all around been the most excellent of this excellent. I really hope they make more!

Happy Easter

Happy Easter to anyone reading this. :)