Coming Soon: Super Deb

Friday, 28th July 2023

This post is both sorta a dev log and an announcement of my next project, pictured in the screenshots above.

The project is called Super Deb, it's a simple side scrolling game where you dodge blocks, collect coins and utilise a few power ups to mix things up.

As you can tell from the screenshots, I'm certainly no graphic artist lol, but hopefully the final thing will look a LITTLE more professional. But hey it's the gameplay/fun factor that counts anyway right. RIGHT?

Unfortunately, there was a large break during development where I left it in a broken state without doing a recent backup and that sorta killed my motivation for a while. But recently I got my act together and development's now back on track again. I'm currently right in the middle of making the game's power ups all work.

The game is going to be quite challenging. Completing all the levels, especially the final level will be fairly tough in itself. Completing all the levels AND getting all the coins in every level? Well good luck with that. There will be a level select screen where you can play any level you've completed + 1 and see how many coins you've gotten on each level. :D

It will have actual made levels, it's not one of those infinite things. Not that I have anything against those, I just want to make actual thought out levels for Super Deb.

It's made for PC web browsers - that is, not touch screen or mobile devices. I actually tried it on a mobile device and it's just too fast/too difficult to control that way, so they're out. I'm glad really, developing for phones is annoying. :) So to sum up, you'll need a keyboard or a game controller to play it.

The break in development might have actually turned out to be a good thing. Near the end of the break I just happened to stumble across JavaScript modules and the import keyword. It's a great way to organise a JS project. I used to organise everything by having a class in each JS file, but with this module stuff you sorta get the benefits of a namespace but also you get to code procedurally where applicable. I wish I'd known about it a long time ago. It's actually learning about that which gave me the boost I needed to get my motivation back, because I wanted to try it out lol.

One slight disappointment is that I won't be able to host it directly on Neocities. At this time I'm on a free account and they don't allow MP3s, of which there are a couple in the game (I didn't make them I got them from a site which I'll credit in-game). Fortunately, I've found a host for the game and they allow you to embed your game in your own website in a similar manner to embedding a YT video, so my site's page will still be the primary and share URL for Super Deb. :D

So yeah that's what's been happening around here. I'd say Super Deb is about 60% done, and depending on how much time I get to work on it (I'm making it in my spare time), I'd say realistically you'll see in on here over the next few weeks. I hope you look forward to it!