Super Deb Progress

Sunday, 30th July 2023

As per my previous blog entry, I'm currently working on a web browser game called Super Deb.

A quick summary, Super Deb is a side-scrolling game where you dodge blocks, collect coins, and there are a few power ups in there to mix things up a bit.

This weekend I finished getting all the power ups working, and made a start on the sort of "cycle" of the game, e.g. what happens at the beginning, when you start a level, when you complete a level and so on. I've also added some stuff to the level editor, which I'm thinking of actually including in the game so people can build and share levels with each other.

To tell the truth it's hard to develop the game sometimes because I can't stop playing the darn thing lol, hopefully that's a good sign. Despite that it's going very well and I'm confident that, unlike certain previous projects I will have this done within the next few weeks. Although bear in mind I'm working on it in my spare time when I can. And when I'm not tired from, or distracted by, everything else....

My mission now is to get the game fully *functionally* finished ASAP. Then I can decide how much bells, whistles, animations etc I'd like to add before publishing.

At the moment also the game uses music I got from a site. I've never made music before but it might be nice to make my own for the game. One option is to do that as an update but the ones I've found are so darn good I think people would probably see anything I made as a downgrade ha. So that's something I gotta think about.

If you're interested in the development of Super Deb, be sure to check back each Sunday. I tend to mainly work on my projects on weekends, so hopefully I'll have some progress to share next week also. MAYBE even an early pre-1.0 version or something...

Well that's basically it, I hope you look forward to playing Super Deb. If you'd like some more information, and haven't already, be sure to check out the previous blog entry on the game.