Sunday Shout: FF7, FF7R, Nintendo Switch 2 and More

Sunday, 3rd September 2023

It’s-a Sunday and I’m trying to write a blog entry at least once a week. Why? I actually don’t know… Well whatever here goes.

FF7R + Nintendo Switch 2

So, there’s a rumour doing the rounds right now that Square Enix has Switch 2 dev kits, they’ve already gotten FF7R working on it (without much effort), it looks as good as it does on PS5, and it may be a launch title for the Switch 2.

Well… if this is all true, just wow. I’ve been unable to play FF7R at this point due to not owning a PS5 and not really wanting one just for a single game, even if it is FF7R. If they plonk it on Nintendo Switch 2, that’d frankly be a miracle.

I’ll definitely be buying a Switch 2 because with a Nintendo console you’re absolutely guaranteed a bunch of excellent games you’ll definitely wanna buy. So to have all my fave games on one console… awesome!

Some people fell off their chocobos at the idea that the Switch 2 could run FF7R with PS5 graphics. Personally I think it’s feasible…ish. Some sacrifices may have to be made, but even though FF7R is incredibly detailed, from what I’ve seen most of the maps are (relatively) small compared to something like Battlefield if ya get what I mean. So maybe!

Despite that, I do still have this feeling that the rumour’s too good to be true, I really really hope it is accurate.

Additional note: The Switch 2 should be called the Super Switch.

FF7

Speaking of FF7… this week I just happened to have blazed through OG FF7 on Nintendo Switch. I considered writing an entire blog entry about OG FF7, like I did FF8. Instead I’ll just say right here it's one of the best games of all time. It has an absolutely epic story, the best characters in the series, incredible music, and top notch, addictive gameplay. If you haven’t played it yet and you’re any kind of gamer, GO AND PLAY IT NOW! And don’t give me that “the graphics are too dated”excuse. Play for a few hours and I guarantee you’ll stop caring about that.

My revisit to FF7 isn’t quite so uh… “dramatic” as my FF8 revisit, since I replay FF7 every year or so anyways. xD I’ve finished this playthrough and I’m ready to move on now, but I’ve created a pretty decent save. Don’t think I missed anything too overly important. Gots me a Gold Chocobo (“Wilma”, no idea why), mastered a lot of my Materia, got everyone's limit breaks and best weapons. Except Cloud, You have to defeat Ultima weapon to get Cloud’s ultimate weapon, Ultima Weapon xD. I didn’t want to save with Ultima Weapon not on the map. Would rather be able to battle him whenever I feel like it. Anywho, all that’s left really is to train up to defeat the remaining superbosses, and I’m not in the mood for that sort of repetitive gameplay right now. So I think it’s time to move on.

I actually got through the game rather quickly due to the x3 speed and no-encounter features of the modern releases.

Man that ending though. At the time when the FF7 compilation didn’t exist it really left you wondering haha.

TV

I watched the first three episodes Ahsoka this week, and it was pretty good! I definitely enjoyed it. The characters are all great and I’m enjoying the adventure. But…it seemed very… formula. No surprises really. I’m definitely enjoying it, which is all that counts in the end. But I do hope there’s some kind of twist in the plot at some point. And to be fair we’re only three episodes in, so there’s plenty of time for shenanigans.

But, take the Obi Wan series for example...

Super Deb

For various reasons, productivity on Super Deb has been non-existent the last few weeks. I tend to mainly work on it (and this site in general) at the weekends, and often due to the break it’s hard to get back into it. When I am into it I really enjoy working on it.

I’ve been thinking something that might help with this productivity issue is to try and spend just 10 minutes each weekday looking through the code, the todo list and having a play. That way at the weekend my mind will still be acquainted with the project, and hopefully it won’t be so difficult to get re-started again.

Other

I updated the site’s landing page. Not going to lie, I'm trying to stand out in the various places where my site’s thumbnail appears on Neocities lol.

I had to adjust Static Ultra slightly to make that work. At some point I’ll do a bit of testing and roll out landing pages as an update to Static Ultra.

Well that’s everything this week.

Some images obtained from https://wikipedia.org, https://finalfantasy.fandom.com and https://logos.fandom.com on a fair use basis. All copyrights, trademarks and other legal doohickey belong to their respective owners.