10 Games I Wish were on Nintendo Switch

Monday, 4th September 2023

This post is certainly not to knock the Switch. The Switch is probably the single best purchase I’ve made in the last few years, and it turned me from a PC gamer back into a console gamer (mostly). I’m also not trying to say that the Switch is lacking in games. It has an absolutely massive catalogue, both new and retro. In fact I’ve replayed many of my favourite games on the Switch since I bought it.

That said… There are a buncha games I really wish I could play on my Switch. Maybe they’ll come in time. Maybe they’ll be on the Switch 2, which lately it feels is finally on the horizon, even if at this point it’s just a blurry dot.

Anywho, here goes. 10 games I wish were on Nintendo Switch.

Sonic Adventure 2

The Sonic games are strange in that they tend to invoke quite strong opinions in the Sonic fanbase. Personally I enjoy all my Sonics, both 2D and 3D. I’d even go as far as saying I tend to prefer a good Sonic game over a good Mario game (although both are great). Sonic SuperStars is out next month, and it’s intended to be a sort of modern, spiritual successor to the Origins and Mania.

Anyways, Sonic Adventure 2 is my favourite 3D Sanics. I prefer the gameplay of this to the modern boost formula. It’s harder to get used to, but once you do I think it plays a lot better and feels more free. I’d love to roll around at the speed of sound once again on my Switch. SA2 actually has a pretty good story as well. And of course it introduces Shadow, who’s cool as heck. And he’s not the one who’s fake, YOU ARE.

Would also be very nice to replay Sonic Heroes, and any other that’s not on Switch too.

Final Fantasy VII Remake (FF7 Remake)

I’ve considered buying a PS5 more times than I can count, so I can play this game. Each time I’ve begrudgingly reached the conclusion I don’t want to spend all that money on a PS5 just for one game. But man it’s been close… I don’t care what anyone says, FF7 is one of the best games ever made. I replay it every year or so and enjoy it thoroughly every single time.

I’ve had a brief go on FF7 Remake and it looks and plays amazingly too. I think they made absolutely the right choice not just rehashing the original game, instead bringing us a new look at FF7, a new way to experience this world, and with a refreshed story. Let’s just hope those Switch 2 rumours are true and we Nintendo gamers can play it on that!

Command & Conquer

All of them. But if I had to be more specific, at least bring all the Tiberium universe games over. The Command & Conquer games are a sort of comfort game for me. I love replaying the game or just picking some missions and trying a new strategy. They still work great on the PC, but it sure would be nice to be able to play them on the Switch. I don’t use the Switch in portable mode ever (I’m too clumsy and don’t want to break the damn thing), but I think a lot of people would appreciate being able to play C&C on the go. Get them on Switch EA, do it for KANE!

Pokemon Red and Blue

…and Yellow, Gold, Silver, Crystal. Heck this is my list. Get all the GBA games on there as well.

Why the heck haven’t Nintendo done this yet? Do they not want money? HELLO NINTENDO?! And to rub the salt in further they go and release Stadium and Stadium 2, but not these games. God damn it.

Anyway, Red and Blue are absolutely top notch RPGS. They were of course re-released on the 3DS Virtual Console. But the DS and 3DS are done now, and there’s no modern way to buy these games. Bring ‘em to Switch, connect ‘em all up with Home and Stadium, and let people enjoy classic Kanto again.

Super Bomberman 2

Now don’t get me wrong, Super Bomberman R is a great game, but let’s be honest, Super Bomberman 2 for the Snes is still the best Bomberman to date (closely followed by Mega Bomberman for the Mega Drive).

It’s the sort of game anyone can play. I remember several members of my family, including non-gamers who used to play both the multiplayer and even the campaign when I was a kid. Maybe the publishers are scared Super Bomberman will hurt Super Bomberman R sales. And maybe they’re right. But regardless, I’d love to play it on my Switch.

Zelda: Twilight Princess

There's quite a lot of Zelda available on the Switch already and they’re all awesome. But for me personally, I haven’t played Twilight Princess since the GameCube days. My memories of it are a bit blurry. It’s not my favourite Zelda. But I still remember having a great time with it, and it’d be great to replay it. Something tells me we will get the chance to replay this, and also The Wind Waker again on either the Switch or the Switch 2. But sadly not yet.

Donkey Kong Country Returns

Sooo we gots Tropical Freeze but we didn’t get DK Returns. I wonder why? A lot of time has passed since Tropical Freeze so something tells me Returns isn’t coming. Oh well. I never actually played it, but I really like the DK Snes games and Tropical Freeze, so it would have been nice to get the chance to play Returns.

That said, I should probably finish Tropical Freeze first. It’s one of those games I boot up when I wanna play a game where I don’t have to think too much, and just relax with some platforming fun.

Metroid Prime 2 & 3

I was both sad and happy when they announced Metroid Prime for Switch. On the one hand it’s Metroid Prime for Switch. But on the other I was hoping up to that point we’d get all three of the first games in a single collection.

Also, I barely played Prime 3 because the motion controls sucked and I had to rage quit. In fact the Wii was the cause of a large break from Nintendo for me. Thank goodness for the Switch… Anywho, I was hoping if they released the trio, they’d put in normal controls for normal people who don’t want to do backflips in their living room rather than pressing the A button.

Well, we got Prime 1, so maybe 2 and 3 are in development and on the way.

Soul Calibur 2

Remember when this was released, and each platform got a unique character, and the GameCube version got Link? That’s literally the only reason I bought it at the time lol. But it turned out to be a good purchase.

Street Fighter 2 Turbo remains the champion of standard fighting games, but this was darned good. It even had an extensive campaign, with a story IIRC! I seem to remember Link’s story was that he was looking for Soul Calbur so he could use it to defeat Ganon? It was cool being able to use his bombs and arrows in battles.

Kingdom Hearts 1, 2 & 3

Yes yes, I know you can already play them via some stupid streaming thing. But Kingdom Hearts isn’t a turn based game, it’s an action RPG. A lag spike could mess up your battle. Also I had a pretty bad experience when I tried the cloud version.

Tbh, the Kingdom Hearts games, as FUN as they are, the story kinda lost the plot for me after the first one. I’m not sure if it’s convoluted or just completely random nonsense. But they’re still great fun to play.

I’d like to see native ports of at least KH1 and KH2 on Switch, but if they can get KH3 working too, even if they have to reduce the graphics a bit, I say go for it.

Conclusion

Well, that’s my 10 games I’d like to see on Nintendo Switch. Are there any you would add or remove? Let people know in the comments below. >:D

Some images obtained from https://wikipedia.org, https://finalfantasy.fandom.com and https://logos.fandom.com on a fair use basis. All copyrights, trademarks and other legal doohickey belong to their respective owners.