Superdeb Devlog 4

Sunday, 18th February 2024

Once again there's been a bit of a delay in developing Superdeb. This was caused by me taking a break from programming over Christmas to finish my Command & Conquer 3 Walkthrough. I actually finished that some time back, but then just couldn't get myself back into the mindset to develop Superdeb. It's never a good idea to take too large break from a programming project. When you return you have to get back into it, get re-acquainted with your code and so on.

ANYWAY. That problem is over, I'm back working on Superdeb again in my spare time, and enjoying doing so very much! Wish I hadn't stopped for so long, but there ya go.

On the bright side, development is going well! This last few days I've completed the "transitions" between the title screen, the intro screen, the level start screen, the actual game screen, the level complete screen, and the level start screen again.

I've also finished the main menu (well, functionally more on that in a moment).

And I've gotten a nice level select screen going.

Along the way doing all that, several smaller things have been done and some code-organising has been done.

Organisation

I actually think organising a project, and continually doing so until the project is complete, is 50% of the process. There IS such a thing as being TOO organised and not getting anything actually done. But I would say if you keep looking at something and thinking "this needs to be organised better", or especially if you find yourself doing workarounds around your own code: it's time to organise your code better.

When Will it Be Finished?

I've been debating how far to go with graphics, animations and sounds before publishing. I've came to the conclusion, since this is just a hobby, I'm happy to publish it as soon as the game is FUNCTIONALLY complete from start to finish, and every game mode works.

For that reason, if I can keep up this pace, I expect to have a version 1 playable on this site in the next two weeks.

After that, I can push animations, more sound effects, and other improvements as updates. So hopefully people will enjoy seeing it evolve.

The End

If you made it this far, thanks for reading! I hope you look forward to playing Superdeb in your web browser. If you have a game controller that works with your PC, be sure to hook it up. The game works fine with a keyboard, but it's much more fun with a controller.